As a result of the state having a surplus of nearly $400 million in their budget, Governor Walker and the State Legislature have authorized a one time $100 per Child Sales Tax Rebate for taxpayers with dependent children under the ages of 18 for tax year 2017.
From May 15 through July 2, 2018, Wisconsin residents (as well as nonresidents and part-year residents if they have Wisconsin dependent resident children and can show they paid at least $100 of non-business Wisconsin sales or use taxes in 2017) can go to childtaxrebate.wi.gov to submit an application to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (WDOR). Individuals can also call 608-266-KIDS (5437) between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday to file a claim. Claims must be filed before July 2. Most rebates will take no more than three weeks from when an individual filed to be dispensed.
Taxpayers should note that a child can only be claimed by one person, and that child must be both a U.S. citizen and a Wisconsin resident for tax year 2017.
The WDOR released an update on this tax rebate approximately a week before they start accepting applications, informing residents on how they can qualify. FAQs and more information including the question of how such rebates may be treated for federal tax purposes can also be found on childtaxrebate.wi.gov.
For more information about Wisconsin’s Child Sales Tax Rebate or other related matters, please contact a Sikich advisor.